Saga: In His Name

 

My warbands for Saga gain some spiritual guidance in the form of a Warrior Priest. The miniature depicts a bishop or abbot or other high-ranking cleric of England, armed and ready to fight the enemies of the church (or at least his church). The figure is from the Defenders of the Faith set from Gripping Beast. I chose the most armored monk with the best forthright pose. He got the sword out of the pack. A built-up base and a shield and banner finish him off. I based him on a 40mm base, thus allowing me to field him as a Warlord Priest if I wanted. His humble color scheme is completely off-set by the banner.

The banner is sourced from Anglo-Saxon icons, with a checker pattern border framing a portrait of Jesus, done in the style of Saxon art. The portrait was free painted, using the simplified color blocking of that style. I did exaggerate the line work to make the banner more visible from a distance. On the base behind him I also added a shield, with a proper Saxon cross design.

 

The Welsh for Saga have been done for some time, but a few games have shown the power of standards in the game. With that in mind, I figured I’d add a banner man to my Welsh force. Here he is posing with a group of Welsh fighters. The Standard Bearer will be able to stand in as a Teulu or a Priodaur (Hearthguard or Warrior, respectively). As he won’t be able to fight, his weaponry was irrelevant, so I decided to give him a bow to further make him stand out.

The banner is based on banners I’ve sourced online. I free handed the imagery, with Celtic-style swirls and simplified knotwork bordering a huge cross. I might return to the knotwork later, but it works. I’m working on more banners for the Welsh and Anglo-Danes, so will feature them eventually. The Anglo-Saxons already have their dragon-banners (sculpts from the Wargames Factory plastics, added to every unit for flavor, or for game effect should I want them).

One Response to “Saga: In His Name”

  1. Amazing work! I’ll study it carefully.

Leave a Reply

