O Canada!

 

I’ve dipped my toe into Muskets & Tomahawks. Previously I painted up an English army of Highlanders for a client. Having played a few games, I’ve enjoyed it enough to give it a try. The small size of the forces involved certainly helped, since the 200-point force I’m working on has only 21 models.

I decided to go with a French colonial force from Montreal or Quebec during the French Indian War (1754-63). The band includes a Canadian Officer, 8 Compagnie Franches de la Marine, 6 Canadian Militia, and 6 Natives (probably Huron or Odawa). I can expand with another Militia unit and some additional members if I want to get to 300 points.

These pics are the Canadian Militia I’ve finished so far. The models are from Wargames Factory’s Black Powder Colonial Militia Men box. They have a lot of nice detail, with fringed buckskin coats and leggings and all sorts of bags. They wear stocking caps associated with the French costume (the leader of the unit wears a round brimmed hat). I kept most colors neutral to reflect the wilderness lifestyle, though a few dashes of color help avoid monotony.

I’ll add a note on their bases. I wanted them to look like they were in the wilderness rather than open ground. With that in mind I used 3 different flocks to create a mix of colors and textures, all on top of patches of rocky ground and scattered rocks. A few models will have craggy bits of cork, resembling tree stumps, while others have broken toothpicks that scale down to fallen trees.

Next up are the Compagnie Franches de la Marine, who will be very visually distinct from the militia’s fur traders and trappers.

Leave a Reply

