Warhammer: Age of WAAAAAGH!

With a resurgence of Age of Sigmar in my area, I’ve decided to dust off the ol’ Orcs and Goblins to try them out. Respectively called the Orruks and Grots now, I might as well have them hit the table- the army’s painted already right? I still used them for Warhammer 8th, 9th Age, and Kings of War, but all three are pretty scarce at my FLGS. Age of Sigmar it is then. I’ve gotten some games under my belt, and it’s a fun system. Pretty simple compared to 8th edition, but I was able to finish the games in less than an hour, which would get me through roughly the first 2 turns of a standard Warhamer game.

I don’t have to buy much for my army to get it playable for AoS, since I’m sitting on a treasure trove of extra Orcs and Gobbos yet to be painted. I plan on adding a unit of Boar Boys, adding to the Savage Orcs, and expanding my Black Orcs units so I can field 3 10-Orc ‘Ardboyz units.

These Ironjawz Brutes represent the new purchase for the Greenskinz army for AoS. I’m still getting the hang of building forces under the Battlescroll system, but I know I want some of these monsters in my army. I also figure I could treat them as Trolls or unit fillers for KoW or WHFB 8th-9th. They got the army colors of my Stormbringaz Orcs and Goblins army, with plenty of checkers, dog’s teeth, and lightning bolts befitting these elite warriors.

The Brutes are great models, with a good amount of detail- pitted and broken armor, layers of plating and leather, and nicely sculpted faces. The kit has lots of extras in the form of shoulder decorations, weapons, and arm options. They work with a rather limited range of design, being just bigger Orcs really. Interestingly enough, the Brutes have a very different sculpt than the old Orcs. They have different proportions; still heroic, but they have an erect posture and less gangly arms and squat legs. They also have smaller heads compared to their bodies. This is not a deal breaker of course, and it helps that they are a head above even Black Orcs in height.

More to come.

 

 

Leave a Reply

