AoS: Brutality!

The Brutes are finished for my Age of Sigmar Orruks army. This is at the moment my only real addition I’m making to my existing Orcs & Goblins force, though I might acquire a Warchanter and Weirdnob Shaman to supplement them later.

The first two members were already posted, and here are the final members, a basic Brute, a Brute with a Gore-choppa, and the Boss.

The Brutes follow the same design as the previous members, with checkers, dog’s teeth and lightning bolts decorating their heavy scarred black armor. The Brute has a cool trophy on his shoulder in the form of a Stormcast mask trophy, his pose a nicely threatening one backed by the checkered sword. I added a back plate to his armor, since to me it looked a little exposed.

The Brute with the Gore-hacka is a good definition of excess, with a sword so big that other blades are nailed to it. The blade was a great surface for decoration, so it got a field of checkers and dog’s teeth to really make it stand out from his body’s black armor. I used one of the Boss heads with its metal jaw plate and the jaw neck decoration, since I figured he’d be the veteran behind the Boss. He is barefoot, so I felt I had to give him some Hulk pants to go with his green feet.

The Boss of the unit is a pretty mean fighter, so I wanted to make him to be obvious in the swirl of melee (and if I used the Ironfist formation, which would give him 2 extra wounds and make him a sub-commander). With that in mind, he carries a icon attached to his back plate. The unit doesn’t get a standard of its own, but I wanted some form of trophy for them to focus on. His big Boss Klaw was painted black, the blades devoid of decorations, instead scraped down to the bare metal. The klaw gets used a lot, obviously.

Looking forward to them on the table!

Leave a Reply

