Age of Sigmar: Krumpin’

 

Green is Best, it seems. I’ve been playing some more Age of Sigmar with my Orruks (with some Grots in tow). The Boyz have done well, stompin’ and krumpin’ as expected, with some surprising usefulness from the Moonclan Grots. The nets they carry benefit everyone around them, conferring -1 to hit on all enemies nearby. Great to protect the Orruks, though they’d never admit it…

These are a few additions to the army I’ve added recently. These are extra minies I’ve had for some time, so a nice cheap way to bulk out the army.

First is the Warchanter for the Ironjawz. This is a conversion, since I had extra Black Orcs and lots of bits. He’s a plastic Black Orc (aka Ardboy for AoS), with a bare Orc head, a drummer’s right arm with skull drumstick (and extra spiky bit on the gauntlet from the Brutes box), and a left arm made from an arm from the Brutes box and a Black Orc hand. I swapped the mace head it came with to a skull to match the right arm. He got the typical snazzy black armor, with lots of checkers and dags as per usual, with a few lightning bolts scattered over his armor and even forehead. I mounted him on a chunk of cork on a 40mm base to match the Brutes and elevate him for emphasis. He needs to be a center of attention after all. The skulls have a glowing effect in their sockets to show the power of the WAAAGH! A trophy demon skull and jaws on his left shoulder completes his snazziness.

The other pic is a bunch of Grots from the Moonclan (aka the Night Goblins). I’ve added a few new Netters to my spear Grots; I used to have only 2 to show the units were carrying nets (since in Warhammer 8th and before the nets were simply a bonus to a unit). Under AoS however the nets actually have bubbles of effect on the table, so I figured I’d have 6 or so for each unit. Some nice bonuses without going overboard.

I also did a few old Goblins. The models come all the way from 4th edition Warhammer, which is quite evident from their smaller and simpler sculpts compared to the Netters (who hail from 6th I think). The Netters have the definite problem of coming from the time where a lot of the infantry plastics ballooned in size, so they match the bigger Night Goblin plastics. My Night Goblins are either 4th ed or 7th ed, so the Netters are much larger than the surrounding spear Grots. This is I suppose rationalized with the biggest members of the tribe carrying the nets for the best tosses…

I did a Standard Bearer and a Champion, as well as a Shaman. I like the Standard Bearer; he’s this dinky little twerp with a dinky pointy hat. Almost too pathetic and adorable for battle. The Champion looks a little more intimidating, with his big axe and devious smirk. The Shaman wears a red cloak and hood like the other Grot characters in the army. He has that old 4th ed caracter pose,with his arms held wide. I like his little cauldron filled with mushrooms and his magic staff, with a little puppet of himself. Again, adorable.

I’m thinking of adding more units over time, so I’m sure there’s more Orruks and Grots to come.

Leave a Reply

