AoS: Time Fer Stompin’

 

Along with other projects, I’ve finished up my second unit of Orruk Brutes for my Ironjawz army for Age of Sigmar. Just in time for the release of the General’s Handbook II. I hope my Stormbringaz can handle the changes.

The Brutes here follow the lead of the previous unit, with a Brute Boss with club and claw, 3 standard 2-choppa Brutes, and a Brute with a giant spiky cleaver. The unit was designed to be able to field 2 units of Brutes, or swap it for a unit of Ardboyz if I wanted (same cost after all). However, I figured I could also use them to field a full 10-boyz unit. The Brute Boss for this unit would be ‘demoted’ to a standard Brute, the more decorated Boss from the the other unit leading the way.

The Brutes as pieces are somewhat limited in their posing. The bodies include the legs and back torso, with the front and arms separate. Individuality comes from swapping out the heads, arms, and shoulder plates. I managed to avoid replicating the previous unit’s members. Extra plates and some weapon swaps finished them off.

The Boss’ weapons only attach to the torso one way. Thus he would have been a duplicate to the other Boss. To avoid this, I swapped the right hand with the club to another arm and gave him the front plate with the jawbone and head with the metal jaw plate.

Once the Handbook comes out, I plan on working on my Moonclan Grots. I’ll want to use them to support the Ironjawz, or vice versa. A unit of Brutes or Ardboyz would give the Grots some real punch.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.